Alumni Geraldine Javier shares pictures of her art classroom

I am Geraldine Javier, the Art Teacher for Advanced Math and Science III located at 3000 Avenue X in Sheepshead Bay, Brooklyn. We are one of the 7 Charter High Schools of the New Visions Network. My vision is to use the visual arts and its history as a tool to increase academic language and critical thinking skills with high school students. This is my second year working with the school and I am loving my job and kids.

IMG_2215 IMG_2216 IMG_2218 IMG_2219
Recent Art Project
These images are Mixed Media Collages my 9th, 10th and 11th grade students made. The objective for the project was for students to use a mixture of materials, found in the room only, to create a collage with a theme. I provided students with a list of themes to choose from. They had about 3 class periods to complete the collage and the written reflection before presentations.
IMG_2212 IMG_2213 IMG_2214
Classroom 
These are the little things I have incorporated into my classroom to improve management as well as enforcing academic language and critical thinking skills:
  • I have ART JOBS that are paid through Community Service hours. Each period has select students who volunteered to be responsible for the job for a full Trimester. I love this because it is like having a special team of helpers to assist with clean up and material distribution.
  • The Sentence Starters and Artist Info Chart are posted for students on my back wall. Artist Info Chart serves as a refresher and constant reminder on what was taught in class. With these posted up, students are held more accountable in class discussions and have less excuses for poor writing assignments.
  • I also have posters up on the wall for the 7 Elements of Art. I made my own posters to highlight the vocabulary words I want students to focus on for each element. I definitely recommend having the Elements of Art visible in an Art room.

 

Leave a Reply

