Thesis Update: Teaching Practices of Art Educators

My name is Bernadette and I am an art education graduate student at City College. I am a career changer who is transitioning from the fashion industry to the education field.  As a designer I enjoyed the creative process and seeing projects evolve from inception to finished product. Though I enjoyed designing I felt the need to contribute towards something rewarding, and teaching art felt like a natural conversion.

Sketch (2)

I am currently a student teacher preparing to begin a career as an art educator and have not decided which grade level I would look to teach. Art educators are among the few teachers in the educational system certified to teach between the grades of Kindergarten-12th.  Prior to student teaching I participated in fieldwork observation of art classrooms.  Though I have observed art classrooms of different grade levels I only witnessed what occurred during a 40-45 minute class. I witnessed teachers providing instruction, engaging with students as individuals and a group, and managing their classroom.  I was not fully aware of all the elements that teachers had to consider in making their classroom an effective learning environment. It is during my student teaching that I more aware of the various facets of teaching. As I get closer to becoming an art educator I have been asked what grade level I want to teach, and I respond that I am not sure.

As art education graduate students we are taught about art making, lesson planning, pedagogy and strategies but there is a void in how these practices may vary based on the grade levels that we teach. I have wondered if I were to teach different grade levels what I would need to do differently and what differences I would experience while teaching them. Being an art teacher is more than art making, it involves effective strategies relevant to the development of a young child or an adolescent. With teaching opportunities varying in New York City and the suburbs of New York I believe that many art educators have taught in different schools and experienced teaching different grade levels.

My thesis will explore how art teachers experience teaching different grade levels. I suspect their teaching practices will vary based on grade levels. If I suspect their practices will vary, then which practices will they modify?  How will they determine modification and how will they implement it?  Do they modify those strategies automatically upon teaching a different grade level, or do they give themselves time to get to know their students and apply according to what they have learned?  For my research I will conduct a survey asking art teachers questions related to topics of classroom management, community building, teacher control versus student choices and multiage classrooms. I intend to interview some of those art teachers to obtain insight and reflection of their specific experiences.

My research will provide me with information that can guide me in choosing a grade level I would like to focus on.  If I expect to find this information valuable for myself then there are other art educators that can learn from my findings. I believe there is a community of art educators who have a varied experience of teaching different grade levels. They can share an abundance of information that many new or experienced art educators can benefit learning from.

Visual Component Draft

One thought on “Thesis Update: Teaching Practices of Art Educators

  1. Hi Bernadette,
    Congratulations on your education! Your research sounds promising. I’d enjoy connecting about discipline methods in creative contexts, particularly as we plan a teen fashion camp in connection with a major fashion exhibit in our museum. Given your training and your background in fashion, are their suggestions you have for encouraging creativity and good team work/ respect for differences in a teen art studio where diverse adolescents will be drawing and sewing?
    Rachael Baldanza

    Like

Leave a Reply

